Nesting, nesting, 1 2 3

Today’s blog is brought to you by the letter N – as in ‘nesting’. Now anyone who knows me will be doubled over at the thought of me on my hands and knees scrubbing the kitchen floor. It’s hopefully a little easier to visualise me industriously making useful things whilst creating a lot of mess.

My current project is all about reusable baby wipes. Yup. Glamourous.

The ‘cheeky wipes’ system is very clever and also quite expensive. I have inherited a dose of terry squares and I decided to copy that system, putting my ever so basic sewing skills to good use.

Here’s how it works: you have two clip-close Tupperware boxes and two ‘wet bags’ for when you’re out and about. One container or bag holds the ‘fresh’ wipes, which are usually steeped in an antiseptic solution eg water with essential oils or even chamomile tea. The other container is for your ‘mucky’ wipes, and you can either use another solution eg tea tree oil to cancel out whiffs, or just seal it up until you can deposit the wipes into your nappy laundry bin.

The wipes are just cotton, bamboo or microfibre and the boxes are literally the Tupperware tubs you see for £1 each in Poundland. I decided to be thrifty and try to make my own rather than spend a (not unreasonable) £30-odd for a new set. Well, I have the raw materials here in the flat!

I started by cutting out a shape that fits nicely into my Tupperware so I don’t have to double them up. I found that grease proof paper works well as a pattern template! I’ve got as far as cutting a whole load out, and will run a simple zigzag stitch around them to stop them fraying. If I had an overlocker (the holy grail of seamstresses worldwide) I’d use it to do a more thorough job.

Will post pics of the finished job- in the meantime here is the pattern cutting:

20131104-135734.jpg

8 thoughts on “Nesting, nesting, 1 2 3

  1. Good on you! I could have and should have done this. Instead I forked out. Planning on making my own replacements when I needed though. How about reusable breast pads – will you make those too? X

    • Hiya! Thanks for reading :-)

      I forked out for some little lambs pads but they’re really basic. Could have done them myself but the LL ones at least have a polyurethane layer.

      The wipes I made look very low-rent but as my husband says they are only for wiping poo off a bum.

      Xx

  2. Yeah, I got some of those too (a packet of natural ones and a packet of black ones) an I read about them having a PUL layer, but don’t quite get it! Is it inside? Because they don’t LOOK waterproof, do they?!

Leave a Reply

