the blank canvas

Progress. Time marches on, and we are busy. Busy getting rid of stuff and accumulating new stuff. Busy growing a new human being. Busy decorating the spare room, which is now a gloriously pale white cube. It’s a blank canvas just waiting for us to put our stamp on it.

A bit like our baby I suppose. 

I must confess I haven’t stuck religiously to my desired ‘make do and mend’ path during  the preparations. I’ve certainly given away lots of things to be reused, or sold valuable things to fund our progress. Very little has gone in the bin, and this Sunday I’ll be at the omni centre at 7am to try and flog what’s left of my frivolous, baby-free life. The ‘misc’ if you will. The white elephant in the room.

My plan was to stick to this ‘reuse’ ethic when decorating and furnishing the spare room, and gathering what we need to be ready for the baby. I’ve done quite well with the small stuff – as with maternity clothes I have been really lucky with friends and family donating baby clothes, toys and cloth nappies. I have enough sleepsuits to avoid doing a single wash in the first three months (should I decide that this is appropriate).

Our pram (or ‘travel system’ as they’re now called) is made up of a kindly donated car seat and a £70 Gumtree steal – worth the trip to deepest darkest Penicuik and the imminent prospect of steam-cleaning it. Likewise some larger stuff like a crib and a baby gym have been generously given to the cause by friends and relatives doing their own clearouts. 

And of course we’ve received some lovely gifts of new things – bedclothes, baby-gros and even a little tiny pair of baby crocs! 

Where I’ve failed to stay on the low-impact bandwagon is the big stuff. Now, if you know me you’ll know I adore old furniture. I have been wittering on about mid-century sideboards and art deco dressers for years now, and I’m quite good at finding spontaneous bargains – the problem is finding furniture to order. And then getting the bloody stuff home, up the stairs and suitably cleaned up and (if necessary) decorated within the next few months, with no van and an increasingly unforgiving ‘condition’ that denies me the fervent energy needed to complete even one upcycling project.

No, forgive me Kirstie Allsopp for I have sinned. I have been to IKEA and drunk from the well of flatpack furniture with free delivery and assembly. So we’re getting a new ‘daybed’ and some drawers, a wing chair and our cot from the Swedish wonder. It wasn’t plain sailing either, but took a lot less time and energy than browsing for shabby chic items that meet our needs as a family. I shan’t apologise, of course, because it’s hardly a crime, but I can’t help feeling a wee bit sad not to have fashioned a nursery out of one-offs that we ‘just stumbled on’ at car boot sales or found in a skip.

In a way it feels appropriate to buy some new things (as in really new) as a gesture that this baby is a long term investment. 

Another area I didn’t achieve the green flag was the decorating. I contacted the community repaint project who sell fantastically cheap paint second hand (it’s remixed from leftover and unused paint and sold by this cool project) to see if they had any white emulsion and white gloss. Alas, they didn’t have at the time. I would have happily traipsed to Glenrothes for some but we opted for good old ASDA who had an offer on instead. But you should check out that paint project next time you’re decorating… it’s very cool.

So I’m not beating myself up – we have saved a fortune in cash and carbon by buying second hand where we can – where its safe, easy and really economical. I shall recline on my pristine virgin IKEA mattress and feel the luxury of having splashed out on something really nice for my growing family – in a few short years it will be our son’s or daughter’s first bed too.

So that’s how we’re getting on – our old spare room has been totally vapourised; the remnants of it’s contents are now lurking in corners waiting to be car-booted. The clearout continues apace, and this Saturday a new carpet will be fitted to replace the absolutely skanky navy thing that somehow went like a proverbial hotcake within hours of going on gumtree freebies. When the carpet is in and the furniture arrives, I think that’s when shit will get real. 

The blank canvas won’t stay that way for long.

Obligatory bump pic. 28 Weeks and having a huge day (I swear I look smaller today than I did yesterday):

(bonus shot of cat mid-fucking-off)

Image

Leave a Reply

