In my own words…

It’s so long since I wrote a blog I actually feel ashamed of myself.

This blog has been dormant for a while and when I write these days it tends to be for money, which is nice. But that means writing words for other people, and it’s been a long time since I wrote any words for myself. Here are some:

Let’s see, where did we leave off? Ah yeah, International Women’s Day 2015 – 2015! That was a fun year. Since that blog post I have:

  • Got a new job – more pay, walking distance, no more driving to Fife in rush hour. Result.
  • Moved house – we bought a cute wee 1930s ‘double upper’ in a cul-de-sac and now have a garden and a spare room AND crucially two bathrooms, meaning we are officially living the dream.
  • Said goodbye to both of my wonderful grandparents on my mum’s side – my beloved Nanny and Papa who played a huge part in my life. They both died peacefully, less than a year apart, after almost seven decades of marriage.
  • Said goodbye to the family home where I grew up, and welcomed my parents to their new home in Scotland. A four hour drive away – but that’s ok.
  • Stopped buying every forlorn piece of ramshackle vintage pottery I set eyes on and watched a documentary about minimalism. I’m fixed.
  • Started a successful freelance copywriting venture with a friend, and supported some great third sector clients.

So a fair few changes and plenty to keep me busy – it’s hardly surprising that this blog has been neglected. I’ve also typed 262 words without mentioning ADAM, who is now 3.5 years old, and is an actual hoot. Whatever time isn’t taken up by domestic stuff or career stuff is pretty much absorbed by parent stuff, and while I’m really grateful, blessed etc etc I’m also kind of exhausted.

It’s a cop-out to write about this stuff, eh? Everyone’s at it and a lot of bloggers do it very well, like the Unmumsy Mum, Hurrah for Gin etc. It’s pretty trendy to slag off your kid and joke about how much of a nightmare the whole thing is, and why not? I’m sure their kids won’t mind reading it all when they’re older. Hopefully.

I quite enjoy being a mum, so won’t be joining them – but I declare full solidarity with any parent (or indeed adult) who has to look after small children.

One thing hasn’t changed – I’m really bad at making quality time for myself. Whether it’s being arsed to go to yoga, or being arsed to call my lovely friends (who also can’t be arsed calling me most of the time – zero judgement), or being arsed to make social plans with the friends who live within a mile of my house…I’m crap. But I’ve enjoyed writing this blog and connecting with my own brain for a few minutes.

As my mum said to me at the weekend, it’s maybe time to get started on the ‘bodice-ripper’ – make more time for writing words down that are my own, and not purely for a client. Who knows? Plot suggestions welcome (keep it clean please)…

 

 

 

One thought on “In my own words…

  1. Being arsed to make time for yourself is important but so is having a rest. Less pressure on what you should be doing and more gratuities for the art that you are doing….achieving at life, work, child etc. More words please. Inspiring.

Leave a Reply

